Liebster Award: Discover new blogs

It was a lazy Wednesday morning, one of these moments when you are about to start working but something-not so deep-inside makes you refrain and keep procrastinating. In such moments I always take a look at the blog, to check for potential messages, comments or clicks from distant exotic countries that make me dream. There it was, a beautiful comment from the blog The Greener Bench who nominated us with the Liebster Award. Huge thanks to this “lucky girl”!!

For those who haven’t heard about it, the Liebster Award is given by bloggers to other fellow-bloggers and it was created as a way to give energy and motivate people who recently started blogging. The nominated blogger(s) have to answer a set of specific questions and chose eleven blogs to nominate for their Liebster Award, to which they ask another set of 11 questions. The only prerequisite: to have less than 200 followers. Thanks for this amazing opportunity to share other small but beautiful blogs and tell a little bit about ourselves!

Our blog list!

1. Afrography
It has been among our favorites for quite a while, this blog is full of amazing pictures and stories from Africa!
2. Nuno Potes Photography
Nuno is a friend and avid photographer! The best place to look for artistic shots and a love for nature!
3. Circadian Reflections
Some great pictures from nature! Amazing compositions and colors!
4. Seeing through 35mm
Weither you want to travel to Iceland or Arizona, this is a beautiful photo-travel blog with astonishing photos!
5. Franci’s Random Yaks, Articles and Photos
Got a thing for birds? Then you shouldn’t miss that blog! Pictures coming straight from Singapore!
6. A Breath of Foreign Air
Follow Sally as she is travelling around the world!
7. On top of the world
Where mountain ecology meets beautiful photography! Follow this briliant phd student on her science travels!
8. Biking the world
Beautiful images and experience, for those who enjoy traveling by bike!
9. Nick’s Nature picks
Outdoor activities and nature photography at its best!
10. Black::Light::White
If you have a thing for black and white photography, you should definitely take a look at this blog!
11.Bear Woods Happenings
From macro photography of insects and plants to Milky Way shots, everything that happens in the woods!

For those who would like to accept the liebster award, you just have to follow four simple rules!

  1. Link and thank the person who nominated you
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you (see the end of this post!)
  3. Tag 11 bloggers who have 200 or less followers
  4. Ask the 11 bloggers 11 questions, and let them know you nominated them!

And now…Back to our award..

Our Best Answers to the questions we got!

We apologise for the absence of a great member of our  blog, Evi, who is trapped under a pile of phd work!

-Do you have a nickname and why do you have it?
 Maria: My mom calls me Vampire cause I never use lights properly when I am reading
 Siel: “Silly Siel”, because apparently I’m weird

-What would you do with a spare $200? (not for bills!)
 Liz: With a spare 200 dolla I wud put it towards diving in zanzibar
 Lore: Don’t know! Too many things are rushing trough my mind! Trying to start a project to save the rainforests in a sustainable way, while also  educating local people. (I guess I’ll need some more fundings though.. )
 Maria: I’d visit some friend…somewhere!
 Siel: Start a herb and veggie garden

-What is your favorite movie?
Liz: Flyaway home
Lore: Pirates of the Caribbean!
Maria: I always forget the names of films! (And actors and singers and…)

-Do you play a musical instrument? If not, what would you like to play?
 Liz: I did play the cello, but I don’t know how to transport it on my nomadic life
 Lore: I love to listen to music, and dance, but I’m not really interested in playing any instrument.
 Maria: I can play the piano and guitar, but you don’t want to be there when I do
 Siel: I play the guitar

-If you could have dinner with 3 people who have passed on, famous or otherwise, who would they be?
 Liz: I’d have dinner with Buddha, my cousin who just passed and muhammad the prophet
 Maria: Frida Kahlo, Ernesto Che Guevara, Darwin.

-What gives you the greatest joy in life?
 Liz: Greatest joy wud b food or meeting dogs
 Lore: Seeing people being happy, making people happy, and like Siel said: seeing people care for each other and for nature!
 Maria: Meeting friends after a long time!
 Siel: Seeing people care for each other and for nature

-Do you have pets? Who are they?
Lore: I have 2 crazy dogs, Lune and Stanley, both are just astonishingly intelligent and incredibly sweet!! 🙂
Maria: No but I often carry tiny little insects in my backpack
Siel: Nope

-Do you have a “happy place”? Where is it?
Liz: Have too many happy places all over the world
Lore: People make the place, so I’m truely happy when I’m together with my friends, or when I see only smiling people, no matter the place. At  the same time, finding myself in an undisturbed natural place, 0% people, 100% nature, makes me amazingly happy as well, however only for a  short period of time, because I need friends to survive.
Maria: The ocean
Siel: A happy place is where happy friends are, so it can be anywhere in the world

-What is your favorite food?
Lore: Real Belgian french fries! I don’t feel the need to eat them very often when I’m in Belgium, but I do miss them for sure when I’m traveling for several months!
Maria: Oh god that’s tough..Give me cheese please, in any form
Siel: Traditional Belgian fries with Mayo

-What is your Chinese astrology animal?
Liz: Dragon
Lore: Horse
Maria:??( I really don’t know guys!)
Siel: Horse

-My mom wants to know if you would like to house sit for all of her pets in Florida 🙂 (see previous posts!)
Lore: Hahah, no doubt!!
Maria: Yes please! Ehm, I mean..How many pets does your mother have??
Siel: Yes, hire me!

A couple of questions for the fellow bloggers

-Why did you start blogging?
-Which was your very first camera?
-Tell us some of your favorite books
-What is the best place you have visited so far?
-Do you travel often? If yes, what is travelling for you?
-Tell us one place that you would like to visit..Right now!(We pay for you!)
-Mountain or sea?
-What is your favorite piece of equipment (travelling/photography/other)?
-Is there a particular person, famous or not that inspires you?
-What’s the first thing you do when you arrive to a new place?
-Is there anything you would like to change in the place or in the way you live?

2 responses to “Liebster Award: Discover new blogs

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award | www.nunopotes.com·

Leave a Reply

