Flamingo Treat

They are the largest and palest of the flamingo species. As I’ve been looking for the Algarve flamingo’s for quite a while now, this encounter was a special one for me. You can spot them easiest in the saltmarshes of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve.

I decided to walk from Praia de Faro to Gambelas in the morning. Which is not something you’d normally do, considering there is no place to walk safely along this busy road with crazy drivers. I’d gotten a tip the day before that the flamingo’s where behind the trees next to this road. Without having too much of an expectation to see them (as I’d looked for them before), I glanced through the bushes to find a handful of them foraging in the Ria Formosa. I climbed over the fencing rails to have a safe spot to observe them. The flamingo’s continued their foraging undisturbed while the cars rushed by and the airplanes landed over their heads at Faro airport.

The Greater Flamingo (Phoenicopterus roseus) at Ria Formosa Natural Reserve, Portugal © Siel Wellens, 2015

 

The Greater Flamingo (Phoenicopterus roseus) at Ria Formosa Natural Reserve, Portugal © Siel Wellens, 2015

 

2 responses to “Flamingo Treat

    • Yes, they should be quite easy to spot all along the Ria Formosa East of Faro. I guess they were always hiding from me 😉

Leave a Reply

